Things I learnt when I planned my wedding:

1. Everything is fine in the very beginning

It seems like planning is going to be a cakewalk.

2. It’s never too early to start planning

Turns out, starting the planning eight months early was not early enough. Ironically, the person who advised me “We should have done this six months back” is the same person to tell me six months back “You have to relax. There is so much time left”.

3. Not everything that you see on Pinterest and websites are doable

I remember browsing through wedding sites and various Pinterest images and liking a lot of ideas. There was a magenta wedding where everything was a combination of white and magenta and the photography of the wedding was picturesque. When I laid out the idea to the interior designer, he made a face, showed me a shade of magenta that made my face cringe and that was the end of the magenta ceremony for me. Read more: 10 reasons why I love attending the big fat Indian wedding Read more: Should the bride and groom split the wedding cost?

4. Everyone wants the bride to be pleased

No matter how horrid the idea is, no one told me ‘No, you cannot do that’ just because I was the bride. Even my own sister said the magenta ceremony will be good. I understood while planning a wedding that everyone is like “It’s your day. You are the bride. If you want to get married in a fluorescent lehenga with pink dupatta, you totally can.”

5. The idea in your head cannot get a perfect version in reality

No matter how much I tried, I could not get the right shade of lamps, right table napkins, the right chairs for the wedding. I had to pick the best from what was available at hand.

10 annoying things that I learnt about while planning my own wedding - 1010 annoying things that I learnt about while planning my own wedding - 29